Spcc Port Stephens 1309

For the Whole of Their Life.

Student Learning

Students are instructed in the full complement of Key Learning Areas as outlined by the NESA (NSW Education Standards Authority) in:

Kindergarten classrooms (Early Stage One),

Year One / Two classrooms (Stage One),

Year Three / Four classrooms (Stage Two).


Students are taught in year groups, with the exception of our Discovery Class, which has a blend of Year 3 and Year 4 students.

Each class has a home teacher and its own learning space. We use mixed ability groupings in all classes.

Early Stage One (ie Kindergarten), Stage One and Stage Two each has a team of teachers who plan, program and organise all learning experiences together for their stage, to ensure consistency and continuity in the delivery of the learning. In addition, the College has a K-6 Curriculum Coordinator and a K-12 Director of Studies, who work with the teaching staff on curriculum development, compliance and implementation.